Opposition Day — Pub Companies — 21 Jan 2014 at 15:46

The majority of MPs voted against a statutory code of practice for large pub companies which would require them to offer the option of a rent only leases. The majority of MPs also voted against an open market rent review and an independent adjudicator to regulate big pub companies.

The text of the motion rejected in this vote was:

  • That this House
  • notes that two years have passed since its resolution on pub companies of 12 January 2012;
  • remains of the view that the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee was right to state in its Fourth Report, on Consultation on a Statutory Code for Pub Companies, HC 314, that only a statutory code of practice which included a mandatory rent-only option for pub companies which own over 500 pubs, an open market rent review and an independent adjudicator would resolve the contractual problems between the big pub companies and their lessees;
  • further notes that pub closures are increasing, and believes that the Government should by July 2014 bring forward legislative proposals to introduce a statutory code of practice of the kind recommended by the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con263 (+2 tell) 0086.9%
DUP0 2025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab0 230 (+2 tell)090.3%
LDem48 0085.7%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:311 244087.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive