Transparency of Lobbying, Non-Party Campaigning and Trade Union Administration Bill — Clause 2 — Inclusion of Those Who Lobby Special Advisers In Register of Lobbyists — 22 Jan 2014 at 14:30

The majority of MPs voted against requiring the inclusion of those who lobby special advisers in a register of consultant lobbyists.

The register would only apply to those lobbying in the course of a business, for payment, on behalf of others and would be subject to exemptions.

MPs were considering the Transparency of Lobbying, Non-Party Campaigning and Trade Union Administration Bill[1]. The vote which was the subject of this division was on the motion:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 1.

Lords amendment 1 stated[2]:

  • Page 2, line 7, after “secretary” insert “or special adviser”

this would have extended Clause 2 of the Bill[3][4] which originally defined "consultant lobbying" as being lobbying of either a Minister of the Crown or permanent secretary to include the lobbying of special advisers.

The explanatory notes to the amendment[5] describe its effect would have been:

  • a prohibition on persons carrying on the business of consultant lobbying by making lobbying communications to special advisers on behalf of others and in return for payment, unless registered (if none of the exemptions apply).


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con266 (+2 tell) 5089.5%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 20100.0%
Lab0 231 (+2 tell)090.7%
LDem45 0080.4%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:311 258089.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkCon (front bench)no
Anne MainSt AlbansCon (front bench)no
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)no
Sarah WollastonTotnesCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive