Transparency of Lobbying, Non-Party Campaigning and Trade Union Administration Bill — Commons Reasons and Amendments — 28 Jan 2014 at 17:01

Motion B agreed.

Motion C

Moved by Lord Wallace of Tankerness

That this House do not insist on its Amendment 108 to which the Commons have disagreed for their Reason 108A.

Lords Amendment 108: Schedule 3, page 57, line 14, at end insert-

“Exclusions of background staff costs

1A Nothing in sub-paragraphs (3) to (5) of paragraph 1 shall be taken as extending to any expenses incurred in respect of remuneration or allowances payable to any member of staff (whether permanent or otherwise) of the third party.”


The Commons disagree to Lords Amendment No 108 for the following reason-

108A:Because a third party’s expenditure on staff should not be excluded from the definition of “controlled expenditure” for the purposes of Part 6 of the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 522.7%
Con155 (+1 tell) 168.6%
Crossbench6 64 (+2 tell)37.7%
DUP0 250.0%
Green0 1100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Judge0 533.3%
Lab0 15066.4%
LDem77 (+1 tell) 075.7%
PC0 150.0%
UKIP0 133.3%
UUP2 0100.0%
Total:240 23159.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Denham Conaye
Baroness Flather Conaye
Lord Armstrong of IlminsterCrossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Deech Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Martin of SpringburnCrossbenchno
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Slim Crossbenchno
Viscount Falkland LDemaye
Baroness Neuberger LDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive