Disenfranchisement of All Residents of Scotland In Event of Scottish Referendum In Favour of Independence — 25 Mar 2014 at 12:40

The majority of MPs voted against immediately preventing all residents of Scotland voting in UK general elections in the event of a Scottish referendum deciding in favour of an independent Scotland.

The motion rejected in this vote was:

  • That leave be given to bring in a Bill to amend the Representation of the People Act 1983 to disenfranchise all residents of Scotland eligible to vote in any United Kingdom General Election held after 18 September 2014 in the event of a positive vote in the Scottish Independence referendum; and for connected purposes.

During the debate leading up to the vote John Stevenson MP explained why he was proposing the Bill[1]:

  • If, on 18 September, there is a majority vote for independence, Scotland would not suddenly become an independent country: negotiations would have to take place; treaties would have to be signed; Acts of Parliament would have to be passed; political and practical arrangements would have to be put in to place; and then, probably at some time in 2016, a formal separation would take effect. But what would happen in the 2015 general election?
  • For a number of reasons that I wish to discuss today, I believe it would be unacceptable to this House and to the remaining parts of the United Kingdom for Scottish MPs to be returned to this Parliament in 2015 after a yes vote.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con31 14 (+2 tell)015.4%
DUP2 0025.0%
Lab166 (+2 tell) 0065.1%
LDem16 2032.1%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP5 0083.3%
Total:226 16038.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steve BarclayNorth East CambridgeshireConaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConaye
Philip DaviesShipleyConaye
Nick de BoisEnfield NorthConaye
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDemaye
Gordon HendersonSittingbourne and SheppeyConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringConaye
Stewart JacksonPeterboroughConaye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConaye
Karl McCartneyLincolnConaye
Stephen McPartlandStevenageContellaye
Nigel MillsAmber ValleyConaye
Greg MulhollandLeeds North WestLDemaye
David NuttallBury NorthConaye
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodConaye
Simon ReevellDewsburyConaye
John StevensonCarlisleConaye
Martin VickersCleethorpesContellaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive