Finance Bill — Clause 11 — Transferable Tax Allowance for Married Couples and Civil Partners — 9 Apr 2014 at 16:13

The majority of MPs voted in favour of allowing married couples and civil partners to transfer their income tax free allowance to their partner, giving a tax cut to those couples with an unused allowance.

MPs were considering the Finance Bill[1]. This vote was on the motion:

  • That the clause stand part of the Bill.

The clause in question was clause 11 of the Bill titled Tax relief for married couples and civil partners[2]. The explanatory notes to the Bill explain[3]:

  • This clause introduces a transferable tax allowance for married couples and civil partners.

This introduced a tax benefit arising from marriage or entering a civil partnership where one partner has an unused personal income tax allowance.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con270 (+2 tell) 0089.2%
DUP4 0050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab0 205 (+2 tell)080.2%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP3 00100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:279 214077.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive