Deregulation Bill — New Clause 8 — Plan to Replace Affordable Homes Lost Due to Right to Buy — 23 Jun 2014 at 21:00

The majority of MPs voted not to require a plan to replace affordable homes lost in England as a result of Right to Buy; and against requiring a review of the effectiveness and impact of the Right to Buy policy before making further changes to it.

MPs were considering the Deregulation Bill[1]. The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was new clause 8 which was titled Replacing homes lost through the Preserved Right to Buy and stated:

  • (1) Within one year of this Act receiving Royal Assent, the Secretary of State shall lay before each House of Parliament a plan to—
  • (a) replace the homes lost through the Preserved Right to Buy;
  • (b) review the effectiveness of the current Right to Buy policy.
  • (2) Before making any further changes to Right to Buy, the Secretary of State must carry out and publish an assessment of the impact of Right to Buy policy on affordable housing supply since 2012.’

The MP who moved the motion, Caroline Lucas, provided the following explanation of its intent:

  • This new clause would require the Minister to produce a plan to replace affordable homes lost in England as a result of Right to Buy, review the effectiveness of current policy and carry out an assessment of changes since 2012 before making further policy changes.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con232 (+2 tell) 0076.7%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 202 (+2 tell)079.1%
LDem42 0075.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
Total:274 208077.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive