Deregulation Bill — Clause 17 — Specific Authorisation of Insolvency Practitioners to Work With Companies or Individuals — 23 Jun 2014 at 21:00

The majority of MPs voted in favour of allowing insolvency practitioners to be authorised to deal with either just individuals, or just companies, rather than requiring them to be authorised to deal with all cases.

MPs were considering the Deregulation Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 84, page 11, line 18, leave out clause 17

The purpose of Clause 17[2] titled Authorisation of insolvency practitioners is explained in the explanatory notes to the Bill[2]:

  • Currently, individuals who are authorised to act as an insolvency practitioner are authorised in relation to all categories of appointment. Under the new regime, a person may be authorised to act only in relation to companies or only in relation to individuals. The new regime will increase accessibility to the insolvency practitioner profession and improve competition. It will also reduce the cost of training and ongoing regulation for applicants who wish to specialise.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con232 (+1 tell) 0076.4%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 203 (+2 tell)079.5%
LDem41 (+1 tell) 0075.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 3050.0%
Total:273 213076.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive