Wales Bill — New Clause 2 — Infrastructure Guarantees in Wales — 24 Jun 2014 at 16:15

The majority of MPs voted against enabling the Welsh Government to underwrite borrowing by private organisations for the purpose of promoting investment in infrastructure.

MPs were considering the Wales Bill[1]. The motion rejected in this vote was:

  • That the clause be read a Second time

The clause in question was proposed New Clause 2, titled Infrastructure guarantees in Wales and stating:

  • Her Majesty may by Order in Council provide for the transfer of responsibility for providing infrastructure guarantees in Wales to the Welsh Ministers.

The proposer of the new clause, Jonathan Edwards MP (Carmarthen East and Dinefwr, Plaid Cymru) stated[2]:

  • New clause 2 would allow the Welsh Government to issue financial guarantees for private projects that they choose to support in such a manner. Government guarantees are useful for companies that are then able to draw down private investment to fund their projects. As I have said, these guarantees would cost the Government nothing, unless the project fails.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con230 (+2 tell) 0076.1%
DUP1 1025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab0 197 (+2 tell)077.1%
LDem45 0080.4%
SDLP0 2066.7%
Total:276 202076.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive