Carers Bedroom Entitlement (Social Housing Sector) Bill — 14 Oct 2014 at 12:45

The majority of MPs voted for an exception from the housing related benefit penalty applied to those deemed to have excess bedrooms for people who require an extra bedroom due to their need for care

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That leave be given to bring in a Bill to provide that people in receipt of Universal Credit and Housing Benefit and accommodated in the social housing sector be entitled to an additional bedroom related to caring responsibilities or overnight care; and for connected purposes.

Introducing the Bill Barbara Keeley MP stated[1]:

  • The Bill would exempt households with one additional room from the bedroom tax if a member of the household is entitled to carers allowance. It would also widen that exemption to households in which a person needs overnight care.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con5 624.3%
DUP4 0050.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab176 (+2 tell) 0 (+2 tell)069.8%
LDem14 0025.0%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP6 00100.0%
Total:212 6235.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Anne MainSt AlbansConaye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConaye
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConaye
Henry SmithCrawleyConaye
Martin VickersCleethorpesConaye
Heidi AlexanderLewisham EastLabtellno
Alan CampbellTynemouthLabtellno
Matthew OffordHendonConboth
John StevensonCarlisleConboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive