Opposition Day — Additional Rate of Income Tax — 5 Nov 2014 at 16:03

The majority of MPs voted in favour of cutting the income tax rate applied to those earning over £150,000 a year.

Specifically the majority of MPs voted not to call on the Government to rule out a further reduction in the top rate of income tax on earnings over £150,000 a year.

The motion rejected in this vote was:

  • That this House
  • believes it is a mistake to reduce the top rate of income tax at a time when working people, who are on average £1,600 a year worse off since 2010, are not feeling the recovery and while the deficit also remains high;
  • notes that figures from the Institute for Fiscal Studies show that, by next year, households will be on average £974 a year worse off because of tax and benefit changes since 2010;
  • believes that a fair plan to balance the books would reverse the cut in the top rate of income tax, which is worth £3 billion a year for the top one per cent of earners, for the next Parliament, and introduce a lower 10p starting rate of tax; and
  • calls on the Government to rule out a further reduction in the top rate of income tax on earnings over £150,000 a year.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con250 (+2 tell) 0083.2%
DUP0 3037.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab0 223 (+2 tell)087.2%
LDem37 0066.1%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:287 238082.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive