Consumer Rights Bill — Report (3rd Day) — 26 Nov 2014 at 16:36

Amendment 47

Moved by The Lord Bishop of Birmingham

47: After Clause 86, insert the following new Clause-

“High-cost short-term consumer credit market regulations

(1) Within six months of the passing of this Act, the Secretary of State must by regulations made by statutory instrument direct a designated body to prohibit public communications, including promotional material and any promotional activities, which concern a high cost consumer credit service from targeting people below the age of 18, including by regulating the content and timing of such communications with a view to protecting children and other vulnerable persons from harm or exploitation.

(2) In subsection (1), “designated body” means a body specified by the Secretary of State in regulations made under that subsection.

(3) A statutory instrument containing regulations under subsection (1) may not be made unless a draft of the instrument has been laid before and approved by a resolution of each House of Parliament.”

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con135 (+1 tell) 458.8%
Crossbench6 4929.6%
DUP0 133.3%
Green0 1100.0%
Judge0 16.7%
Lab0 134 (+2 tell)60.4%
LDem73 (+1 tell) 068.5%
PC0 150.0%
Total:214 19152.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Glenarthur Con (front bench)aye
Lord Lawson of BlabyCon (front bench)aye
Lord Marlesford Conaye
Lord Swinfen Con (front bench)aye
Baroness Butler-Sloss Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord Mawson Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Palmer Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Stirrup Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Thomas of SwynnertonCrossbenchno
Viscount Falkland LDem (front bench)aye
Baroness Tonge LDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive