Counter-Terrorism and Security Bill — Schedule 1 — Seizure of Passports etc. on Terror Grounds — Right of Appeal — 15 Dec 2014 at 19:30

The majority of MPs voted against giving a right of appeal to the courts to those subject to having their travel documents seized on the grounds of an intention to leave Great Britain for the purpose of taking part in terrorism-related activity.

MPs were considering the Counter-Terrorism and Security Bill.[1]

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 17, page 30, line 14, at end insert—
  • “(c) the individual subject whose travel document has been removed may appeal against this decision in the courts over the evidence on which conditions in paragraph 2(1)(a) and (b) of this schedule were met.”

Paragraph 2(1) of Schedule 1[2], which the amendment refers to and would have affected, states:

  • This paragraph applies in the case of a person at a port in Great Britain if a constable has reasonable grounds to suspect that the person—
  • (a) is there with the intention of leaving Great Britain for the purpose of involvement in terrorism-related activity outside the United Kingdom, or
  • (b) has arrived in Great Britain with the intention of leaving it soon for that purpose.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con259 (+1 tell) 0085.8%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 10100.0%
Lab0 211 (+2 tell)082.6%
LDem39 (+1 tell) 0071.4%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 3050.0%
UKIP2 00100.0%
Total:301 222082.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive