Counter-Terrorism and Security Bill — Clause 1 — Seizure of Passports etc from Terror Suspects — Law to Expire Unless Renewed — 6 Jan 2015 at 16:00

The majority of MPs voted against making a proposed new power to seize travel documents from those suspected of involvement in terrorism expire on 31 December 2016.

MPs were considering the Counter-Terrorism and Security Bill[1].

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 9, page 1, line 8, at end insert—
  • 2) This section shall be repealed on 31 December 2016 unless both Houses of Parliament have passed a resolution that it should continue in force until a future date.
  • (3) The date specified in a resolution of both Houses of Parliament under subsection (2) may be modified by subsequent resolutions of both Houses of Parliament.’.

Had it not been rejected the above text would have been added to clause 1[2] of the Bill titled 'Seizure of passports etc from persons suspected of involvement in terrorism' which provided for the seizure and temporary retention of travel documents, including passports, where a person is suspected of intending to leave Great Britain or the United Kingdom in connection with terrorism-related activity.

A statement of the intended effect of the amendment was provided by the MP proposing it who wrote:

  • This amendment would require a vote in Parliament to renew the power to temporarily seize passports.

The provisions allow for the seizure of travel documents, including passports for up to 14 days, and for up to 30 days with "judicial authority".


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con259 (+1 tell) 0085.8%
DUP6 0075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab0 217 (+2 tell)084.9%
LDem45 (+1 tell) 0082.1%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 4066.7%
Total:310 228084.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive