Consumer Rights Bill — Secondary Ticketing Platforms — Require Publication of Seller ID and Full Ticket Details — 12 Jan 2015 at 19:15

The majority of MPs voted against requiring ticket reselling websites to identify ticket sellers and carry full details of tickets including face value, seat numbers and more.

MPs were considering the Consumer Rights Bill[1][2]

The motion passed by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 12.

Lords amendment 12[3] sought to introduce a new clause to the bill titled 'Secondary ticketing platforms' subclause (1) of which stated:

  • Secondary ticketing operators must, on the website on which tickets are offered for sale or transfer, provide information concerning the sellers of tickets so that sellers may be easily identified.

The clause also required the publication of "all relevant information" relating to the ticket, including its face value and details of the seat (if any) the ticket relates to.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con244 (+1 tell) 4182.5%
DUP0 1012.5%
Independent1 10100.0%
Lab0 187 (+2 tell)073.3%
LDem42 (+1 tell) 0076.8%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 60100.0%
UKIP2 00100.0%
Total:289 202177.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steve BarclayNorth East CambridgeshireConno
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyCon (front bench)no
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)no
Mike WeatherleyHoveConno
Andrew MitchellSutton ColdfieldConboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive