Infrastructure Bill — New Clause 18 — Strategic Highways Companies — 26 Jan 2015 at 21:00

The majority of MPs voted to enable the creation of strategic highways companies to take on some, or all, of the role of the Highways Agency.

MPs were considering the Infrastructure Bill[1]

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • page 1, line 4, leave out clauses 1 and 2.

Clauses 1 and 2 of the Bill[2] were titled:

  • Appointment of strategic highways companies


  • Areas and highways in an appointment

The provisions which were retained in the Bill following the vote enable companies wholly owned by the Secretary of State to be appointed as highway authorities for specified highways in particular areas. Only responsibility for highways which were previously the responsibility of the Secretary of State (rather than local councils, as local highways authorities) are to be transferred to any new companies.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con277 (+1 tell) 0091.7%
DUP4 0050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 197 (+2 tell)077.1%
LDem42 (+1 tell) 0076.8%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 2066.7%
Total:323 202083.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive