House of Lords (Expulsion and Suspension) Bill — New Clause 3 — Code of Conduct to Be Referenced in Motions to Suspend or Expel Members — 27 Feb 2015 at 13:15

The majority of MPs taking part voted not to allow the House of Lords to adopt a code of conduct which, if in-place, would have to be referenced in resolutions to expel or suspend a member.

MPs were considering the House of Lords (Expulsion and Suspension) Bill[1].

The rejected new clause, titled Code of Conduct stated:

  • (1) Standing Orders of the House of Lords may provide for the adoption of a code of conduct.
  • (2) A resolution passed by virtue of section 1(4) must include a reference to the relevant provision of any code of conduct which the House of Lords may have adopted and which has not been superseded by a subsequent decision of the House.”

An explanation of the intent of this proposed new clause was provided:

This Clause allows the House of Lords to adopt a code of conduct and also requires the application of penalties under this Bill to be linked to that code, if there is one.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con20 (+2 tell) 2 (+2 tell)08.6%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab13 005.0%
LDem0 000.0%
Total:34 206.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)tellaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)aye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)tellaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive