Scotland Bill — Clause 11 — Full Control Over Taxation, Borrowing and Public Spending for Scottish Parliament — 15 Jun 2015 at 21:30

The majority of MPs voted against allowing the Scottish Parliament to take full control over taxation, borrowing and public spending in Scotland.

MPs were considering the Scotland Bill[1]

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

An explanatory note provided along with the amendment stated its intent:

  • This amendment would enable the Scottish Parliament to amend the Scotland Act 1998 to remove the reservation on taxation, borrowing and public expenditure in Scotland, with the effect that the Scottish Parliament could then legislate in these areas to provide for full fiscal autonomy in Scotland.

The amendment would have affected Clause 11 of the Bill titled "Scope to modify the Scotland Act 1998" and added a new sub-clause to it.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con305 (+2 tell) 0093.0%
DUP2 0025.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab0 200.9%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 0 (+2 tell)066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 560100.0%
UUP1 0050.0%
Total:309 60058.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive