Scotland Bill — Clause 1 — Consent of Scottish People and Parliament Before Abolition of The Scottish Parliament — 15 Jun 2015 at 19:30

The majority of MPs voted against requiring the consent of the Scottish Parliament and of the Scottish people in a referendum before the Scottish Parliament can be abolished; and against strengthening the constitutional status of the Scottish Parliament.

MPs were considering the Scotland Bill[1]

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • In clause 1, page 1, leave out lines 7 and 8 and insert—
  • “(1A) The Scottish Parliament is a permanent part of the United Kingdom’s constitution.
  • (1B) Subsection (1) or (1A) may be repealed only if—
  • (a) the Scottish Parliament has consented to the proposed repeal, and
  • (b) a referendum has been held in Scotland on the proposed repeal and a majority of those voting at the referendum have consented to it.”

The lines to be removed would have added the following to the Scotland Act 1998:

  • “(1A) A Scottish Parliament is recognised as a permanent part of the United Kingdom’s constitutional arrangements.””

Parliament can change the laws it has made at any time so the proposed laws in the amendment were presumably largely symbolic.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con300 (+2 tell) 0091.5%
DUP1 0012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 207089.2%
LDem0 4050.0%
PC0 0 (+2 tell)066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 560100.0%
UUP1 0050.0%
Total:302 271089.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive