European Union (Finance) Bill — Clause 2 — Timetable for Implementation of New Arrangements for Funding the European Union — 23 Jun 2015 at 15:15

The majority of MPs voted to make new arrangements for funding the European Union come into force two months after the European Union (Finance) Bill becomes law.

MPs were considering the European Union (Finance) Bill[1][2].

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 1, page 1, line 18, leave out subsection (3).

Clause 2 subsection (3)[3] referred to states:

  • This Act comes into force at the end of the period of 2 months beginning with the day on which it is passed.

An explanatory note accompanying the amendment stated:

  • This amendment removes the automatic coming into force of the Act two months after it is passed, which would be incompatible with any of the new Clauses.

New clause one which was agreed without objection prior to this vote[4] included a sub-clause stating:

  • This Act shall come into force on such day as the Treasury shall by order specify.

The European Union (Finance) Bill seeks to give effect to the new Own Resources Decision of the European Union (EU Council Decision of 26 May 2014: 2014/335/EU, Euratom), amending the arrangements for the financing of the annual budget of the EU.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con297 (+2 tell) 0090.6%
DUP3 0037.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 196 (+2 tell)085.3%
LDem0 4050.0%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 49087.5%
UUP1 0050.0%
Total:301 254086.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive