Scotland Bill — New Clause 39 — Powers of the Scottish Parliament — National Insurance — 30 Jun 2015 at 17:45

The majority of MPs voted against giving the Scottish Parliament power over national insurance.

MPs were considering the Scotland Bill[1]

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled National Insurance and stated:

  • ‘(1) Section F1 of Schedule 5 to the Scotland Act 1998 is amended as follows.
  • (2) In the illustrations, omit “National Insurance;”
  • (3) In the exceptions, at the beginning insert— “National Insurance.”.’

The rejected clause would have added national insurance to the list of exceptions from powers "reserved" to the UK Parliament rather than being devolved to Scotland.

An explanatory note accompanying the rejected new clause stated:

  • This new clause would devolve National Insurance to the Scottish Parliament.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con309 (+2 tell) 0094.2%
DUP2 0025.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab197 0084.9%
LDem3 0037.5%
PC0 0 (+2 tell)066.7%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 55098.2%
UUP1 0050.0%
Total:513 58089.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive