Cities and Local Government Devolution Bill [HL] — Report (1st Day) — 13 Jul 2015 at 18:41

Amendment 4 not moved.

Schedule 1: Mayors for combined authority areas: further provision about elections

Amendment 5

Moved by Baroness Williams of Trafford

5: Schedule 1, page 13, line 12, at end insert-

“(1) The term of office of a mayor is to be four years.

(2) The first election for the return of a mayor is to take place on the first day of ordinary elections of councillors of a constituent council to take place after the end of the period of 6 months beginning with the day on which the order under section 107A comes into force.

(3) Subsequent elections for the return of a mayor are to take place in every fourth year thereafter on the same day as the ordinary election of councillors of that constituent council.

(4) But this paragraph has effect subject to any provision made under paragraph 2.

(5) In this paragraph “constituent council” means-

(a) a county council the whole or any part of whose area is within the area of the combined authority, or

(b) a district council whose area is within the area of the combined authority.”

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con139 (+2 tell) 060.5%
Crossbench11 69.2%
DUP0 125.0%
Green0 1100.0%
Judge1 06.7%
Lab0 20.9%
LDem0 73 (+2 tell)73.5%
Total:151 8331.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
The Earl of ErrollCrossbenchaye
Viscount Falkland Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Grey-Thompson Crossbenchaye
The Countess of MarCrossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Young of HornseyCrossbench (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive