European Union Referendum Bill — New Clause 11 — Restrictions on Government Activities Which Could Influence Referendum — 7 Sep 2015 at 20:57

The majority of MPs voted not to restrict Government activities which could influence the referendum on the United Kingdom's membership of the European Union.

The rejected proposals would have prevented a referendum taking place until arrangements for such restrictions, which would apply in the five weeks before the referendum date, were in place.

MPs were considering the European Union Referendum Bill.[1]

The amendment rejected in this vote was[2]:

Amendment 11, page 5, line 28, at end insert—

  • “(1A) (a) Section 1 will come into effect after a resolution has been passed by both Houses approving arrangements for a purdah period covering a period of five weeks before the referendum date.
  • (b) arrangements for a purdah period will include—
  • (i) restrictions on material that can be published by the government, public bodies and the EU institutions; and
  • (ii) measures to determine breaches of purdah and penalties for such a breach.”

Purdah is jargon for the period in the run-up to a UK election when government is prevented from making announcements about any new or controversial government initiatives which could impact the election.

The rejected amendment was accompanied by a statement of its intent[2] saying:

  • The referendum provision of the Bill could only come into effect after arrangements for purdah had been approved by both Houses of Parliament.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con308 (+2 tell) 8096.4%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab202 3289.2%
LDem1 0012.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 53 (+2 tell)098.2%
UKIP0 10100.0%
UUP2 00100.0%
Total:514 78292.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)aye
Margaret BeckettDerby SouthLabboth
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexCon (front bench)aye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)aye
Keith VazLeicester EastLab (minister)aye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)both
Owen PatersonNorth ShropshireConaye
Stewart JacksonPeterboroughCon (front bench)aye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Stephen McPartlandStevenageConaye
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive