Finance Bill — Clause 43 — Review of Impact of Rise in Insurance Premium Tax — 8 Sep 2015 at 17:45

The majority of MPs voted against requiring a review of the impact of any rise in insurance premium tax.

MPs were considering the Finance Bill[1]:

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • amendment 1, page 59, line 19, at end add -
  • “(6) The Chancellor of the Exchequer shall, within three months of the passing of this Act, undertake, and lay before both Houses of Parliament, a review of the impact of any further rise in the standard rate of insurance premium tax with particular attention to the impact on—
  • (a) the price charged for insurance policies; and
  • (b) the take-up of insurance policies”.

Had it not been rejected this amendment would have added the above text to the end of clause 43[2] of the Bill titled "Insurance premium tax".

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con308 (+2 tell) 0093.9%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 195 (+2 tell)084.9%
LDem0 7087.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 52092.9%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:308 269090.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive