Finance Bill — Application of Climate Change Levy Tax to Electricity Generated from Renewable Sources — 8 Sep 2015 at 19:45

The majority of MPs voted to apply the Climate Change Levy, a tax on energy delivered to non-domestic users, to electricity generated from renewable sources after 1 August 2015.

MPs were considering the Finance Bill[1]:

The question agreed by the majority of MPs taking part in this vote was:

  • That the clause stand part of the Bill

The clause in question, which the majority of MPs supported remaining in the Bill, was Clause 45.

Clause 45 was titled "CCL: removal of exemption for electricity from renewable sources" and stated:

  • In paragraph 19 of Schedule 6 to FA 2000 (climate change levy: exemption for electricity from renewable sources), in sub-paragraph (3), before paragraph (a) insert—
  • “(za) it is generated before 1 August 2015,”.”

MPs held a previous vote on this subject on the 14th of July 2015

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con306 (+2 tell) 2093.9%
DUP3 3075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 178 (+2 tell)077.6%
LDem1 2037.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 51091.1%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:310 245086.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConno
Nigel AdamsSelby and AinstyConno
Tim FarronWestmorland and LonsdaleLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive