Cities and Local Government Devolution Bill — Clause 10 — Set Funding of Combined Authorities Over a Year in Advance — 21 Oct 2015 at 18:45

The majority of MPs voted against allowing central government funding for combined authorities to be set more than a year in advance.

Combined authorities are groups of local councils which, in relation to certain areas of their activities, pool responsibilities and receive additional powers devolved from central government.

MPs were considering the Cities and Local Government Devolution Bill[1]

The amendment rejected by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • Amendment 58, page 11, line 26, at end insert—
  • ‘(5) The Secretary of State may by order make provision for conferring powers on a combined authority to set multi-year finance settlements.”

Had it not been rejected this amendment would have added the above subsection to clause 10[2] of the Bill.

An explanatory statement accompanying the rejected amendment stated:

  • This amendment is intended to offer financial stability to city regions, allowing them long-term planning which is something not currently offered by the finance settlement or the funding of local enterprise partnership (LEPs).


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con306 (+2 tell) 0093.3%
DUP5 0062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab0 193 (+2 tell)084.4%
LDem0 3037.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
Total:311 203088.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive