Finance Bill 2015-16 — Third Reading — 26 Oct 2015 at 22:00

The majority of MPs voted for the measures in the Finance Bill including an increase in the income tax personal allowance, and to cap the rates of VAT and income tax at their existing rates until the next general election.

MPs were considering the Finance Bill[1][2], the motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That the Bill be now read the Third time.

The Finance Bill[1][2]:

  • sets out that that the basic, higher and additional rates of income tax will not increase above 20%, 40% and 45% for the duration of the current Parliament.
  • sets out that VAT rates will not rise for the duration of the current Parliament.
  • sets the amount of the income tax personal allowance for 2016-17 at £11,000 and 2017-18 at £11,200
  • sets the amount of the income tax basic rate limit for 2016-17 at £32,000 and 2017- 18 at £32,400
  • sets the main rate of corporation tax (CT) at 19% for the financial years beginning 1 April 2017, 1 April 2018 and 1 April 2019 and at 18% for the financial year beginning 1 April 2020
  • sets the Annual Investment Allowance (AIA) (investment in assets which can be set against profits before corporation tax is charged) to £200,000 (it was previously £500,000 but would otherwise have dropped to £25,000)
  • raised the effective inheritance tax threshold to £1 million
  • decreases the rates at which the bank levy is charged from 1 January 2016 onwards.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con310 (+2 tell) 0094.5%
DUP5 0062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 10100.0%
Lab0 212 (+2 tell)092.6%
LDem0 6075.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 52094.5%
UUP1 10100.0%
Total:317 278093.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive