Trade Union Bill — Clause 9 — Union Supervision of Picketing — 10 Nov 2015 at 17:45

The majority of MPs voted to require the appointment of a picket supervisor and for them to be identified to, and contactable by, the police. Non compliance with the rules would result in the picketers losing their protection against legal action in connection with the picket.

MPs were considering the Trade Union Bill[1].

The amendment which was the subject of this vote was:

  • Amendment 6, page 4, line 31, leave out clause 9.

Clause 9[2] was titled Union supervision of picketing and provided for a picket supervisor to be identified to the police and contactable by the police. This would apply in the case of picketing by trade unions.

Clause 9 provides for amendments to the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992. The relevant sections are 119 and 220[3].

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con304 (+2 tell) 0092.7%
DUP0 2025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 20100.0%
Lab0 206 (+2 tell)090.0%
LDem0 4050.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 52094.5%
Total:304 271090.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive