Trade Union Bill — Clause 9 — Consent of Devolved Administrations and Local Government — 10 Nov 2015 at 18:11

The majority of MPs against giving local government and devolved administrations a veto over the application of the minimum threshold of 50% turnout for all industrial action (strike) ballots and other new regulation of trade union activity contained within the Trade Union Bill within their areas of responsibility.

MPs were considering the Trade Union Bill[1].

A summary of the impacts of the Trade Union Bill can be found on PublicWhip's page on the second reading vote.

The motion rejected in this vote was:

  • That the clause be added to the Bill.

The clause in question was New Clause 10 titled Application of provisions to public sector employees across the UK and stated:

  • “The extent and provisions of this Bill shall only apply to the public sector in the UK,
  • (a) By consent of the Scottish Parliament, Welsh Assembly, Northern Ireland Assembly, Mayor of London and other public bodies and local authorities in England in their areas of responsibility.
  • (b) Where consent has been granted, this consent can be withdrawn at any time.”

During the debate Chris Stephens MP who proposed the new clause explained[2]:

  • New clause 10 is a catch-all amendment that limits the extent and provisions of the Bill from applying to the public sector across the UK without the consent of the Scottish Parliament, the Welsh Assembly, the Northern Ireland Assembly, the Mayor of London and other public bodies and local authorities in England.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con306 (+2 tell) 0093.3%
DUP0 2025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 20100.0%
Lab0 207089.6%
LDem0 1012.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 50 (+2 tell)094.5%
Total:306 267090.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive