Cities and Local Government Devolution Bill — New Clause 7 — English National Park Authorities: Powers — 7 Dec 2015 at 17:00

The majority of MPs voted to give National Park authorities more powers and more freedom to act as they see fit.

MPs were considering the Cities and Local Government Devolution Bill[1].

The proposed new clause supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was titled: English National Park authorities: general powers and began:

  • After section 65 of the Environment Act 1995 insert—
  • “65A English National Park authorities: general powers
  • (1) An English National Park authority may do—
  • (a) anything it considers appropriate for the purposes of the carrying out of any of its functions (its “functional purposes”),
  • (b) anything it considers appropriate for purposes incidental (whether directly or indirectly) to its functional purposes,
  • (c) anything it considers to be connected with—
  • (i) any of its functions, or
  • (ii) anything it may do under paragraph (a) or (b), and
  • (d) for a commercial purpose, anything which it may do under any of paragraphs (a) to (c) otherwise than for a commercial purpose.

The full new clause is reproduced in the official record[2].

Members of national park authorities are appointed by either the Secretary of State, local councils or parish councils.[3]


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con287 (+2 tell) 0087.6%
DUP2 0025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 181 (+2 tell)078.9%
LDem3 2062.5%
PC0 1033.3%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:292 187082.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Alistair CarmichaelOrkney and ShetlandLDem (front bench)no
Mark WilliamsCeredigionLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive