Opposition Day — EU Referendum Date — 9 Feb 2016 at 15:48

The majority of MPs voted against holding the referendum on the UK's membership of the EU too close to elections due to be held in May 2016.

The motion rejected by the majority of MPs taking part in this vote was:

  • That this House
  • notes and regrets that the Government appears set to rush to a referendum on the UK’s membership of the European Union in June 2016;
  • believes that no case has been made for holding a referendum at such an early stage, and that further, any such needlessly premature date risks contaminating the result;
  • believes that a subject as fundamental as EU membership should be decisively settled after a full and comprehensive debate;
  • notes the recommendations of the Electoral Commission on best practice for referendums;
  • further notes that there are elections happening in Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales, London and some local authorities in May 2016 and that the First Ministers of each of the devolved administrations have all expressed opposition to a June referendum date; and
  • urges the Government to set the date for the referendum having respect for the May elections as distinct electoral choices.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con285 (+2 tell) 3087.9%
DUP0 5 (+2 tell)087.5%
Independent1 20100.0%
Lab0 502.2%
LDem0 1012.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 48088.9%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:286 70056.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)aye
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)aye
Tom PursgloveCorbyConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive