Local Government Finance (England) — 10 Feb 2016 at 18:54

The majority of MPs voted to set the main central government grant to local government for 2016-17 at a level 24.6% lower than it was set for 2015-16.

The majority of MPs voted to set the "Revenue Support Grant" for local government for the financial year 2016/2017 at £7,183,928,972 (The figure for 2015/2016 was £9,532,747,360[1])

An associated statement to Parliament[2] said:

  • Core spending power for councils will also be virtually unchanged:
  • £44.5 billion in 2015 to 2016 and
  • £44.3 billion in 2019 to 2020.
  • In real terms, this requires savings of 6.7% over this Spending Review period – compared to 14% announced at the Spending Review of 2010.

Local councils are increasingly funded via local retention of council tax, business rates and other local revenues.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs taking part in the vote was:

As this vote specifically affected England it was subject to a double majority vote, it required the support of the majority English MPs taking part as well as the majority of MPs voting to pass.

All MPs:

Ayes 315, Noes 209.

English MPs:

Ayes 301, Noes 181

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con313 (+2 tell) 1095.8%
DUP1 1025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 200 (+2 tell)087.4%
LDem0 3037.5%
PC0 2066.7%
UUP0 0150.0%
Total:314 208190.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive