Welfare Reform and Work Bill — Clause 14 — Universal Credit: Limited Capability for Work Element — 23 Feb 2016 at 17:36

The majority of MPs voted to remove the "limited capability for work" element of Universal Credit.

MPs were considering the Welfare Reform and Work Bill[1].

Lords amendment 9[2] was rejected in this vote, it stated:

  • Leave out Clause 14

Clause 14 of the Bill[3] stated:

The sub-clause (a) in question listed "the fact that a claimant has limited capability for work" as a factor which may be used in the calculation of an award of universal credit.

The amount of the limited capability for work was, at the time of the vote, set via Regulation 36 of the The Universal Credit Regulations 2013 at £123.62 per month.

Together with the removal of the "work-related activity component" from the Employment and Support Allowance the changes are expected to reduce Government spending by £640m per year in 2020/21.[4]

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 9


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con304 (+2 tell) 2093.3%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab0 203 (+2 tell)088.7%
LDem0 7087.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 51094.4%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:304 280091.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConno
Stephen McPartlandStevenageConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive