Bank of England and Financial Services Bill — Banks Authorised to Issue Banknotes — 19 Apr 2016 at 17:45

The majority of MPs voted against enabling the set of banks authorised to issue banknotes to expanded.

MPs were considering the Bank of England and Financial Services Bill[1].

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 4, in clause 36, page 34, line 15, at beginning insert—
  • ‘( ) Subject to the provisions of subsection (3A).”

The amendment was accompanied by the following explanatory note:

  • This amendment and amendment 5 would enable Lloyds Banking Group, the holder of the Bank of Wales trademark, to issue banknotes in Wales.

The amendment would have impacted Clause 36 of the Bill[2] titled: Banks authorised to issue banknotes in Scotland and Northern Ireland. As it stood the Bill sought to restrict authorisations to issue bank notes to banks in the same group as those already authorised.

Section 3A would have been introduced by amendment 5[3] which was not the subject of this vote, that amendment stated:

  • Clause 36, page 34, line 44, at end insert—
  • “(3A) Regulations under subsection (1) must make provision authorising Lloyds. Banking Group to issue banknotes in Wales”.

Despite the title of the clause referring to "Scotland and Northern Ireland" it appears to apply to any parts of the UK specified in regulations made under it.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con295 (+2 tell) 0090.0%
DUP6 0075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab0 181078.7%
LDem0 3037.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 43 (+2 tell)083.3%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:301 239084.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive