Policing and Crime Bill — Police and Crime Commissioners — Responsibility for Fire and Rescue Service. — 26 Apr 2016 at 15:46

The majority of MPs voted to allow Police and Crime Commissioners to be given responsibility for the Fire and Rescue Service.

MPs were considering the Policing and Crime Bill[1].

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 3, page 6, line 3, leave out Clause 6

The amendment was accompanied with an explanatory note stating:

  • This amendment, along with amendment 4, would prevent Police and Crime Commissioners from taking over the functions of Fire and Rescue Authorities.

Clause 6 of the Bill[2] was titled: Provision for police and crime commissioner to be fire and rescue authority and stated:

  • Schedule 1 makes provision for a person who is the police and crime commissioner for an area to be the fire and rescue authority for that area.

Schedule 1 states that The Secretary of State may, by order, make a Police and Crime Commissioner the Fire and Rescue Authority for an area.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con305 (+2 tell) 0093.0%
DUP3 0037.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab0 188 (+2 tell)082.6%
LDem0 5062.5%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 1033.3%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:308 200087.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive