Housing and Planning Bill — Clause 78 — Mandatory Rent Level for High Income Local Authority Tenants — 3 May 2016 at 20:27

The majority of MPs voted to require local councils to charge high income social housing tenants rent at levels set by central Government.

MPs were considering the Housing and Planning Bill[1].

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 54

Lords amendment 54[2] stated:

  • Page 34, line 9, leave out “must” and insert “may”

Had it not been rejected this would have impacted clause 78 of the Bill titled Mandatory rents for high income local authority tenants subclause (1) of which stated:

  • (1) The Secretary of State may by regulations make provision about the levels of rent that an English local housing authority must charge a high income tenant of social housing in England.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con286 (+2 tell) 0087.3%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab0 163 (+2 tell)071.7%
LDem0 4050.0%
PC0 1033.3%
SNP0 101.9%
Total:286 172072.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive