EU Nationals Currently Living in the UK — Right to Remain — 6 Jul 2016 at 17:39

The majority of MPs voted in favour of giving EU nationals currently living in the UK the right to remain.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House
  • notes that there are approximately three million nationals of other EU member states living in the UK;
  • further notes that many more UK nationals are related to nationals of other EU member states;
  • rejects the view that these men, women and children should be used as bargaining chips in negotiations on the UK’s exit from the EU; and
  • calls on the Government to commit with urgency to giving EU nationals currently living in the UK the right to remain.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con5 001.5%
DUP3 0037.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent1 0033.3%
Lab183 (+2 tell) 0 (+2 tell)081.0%
LDem4 0050.0%
PC2 0066.7%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP42 0077.8%
UKIP1 00100.0%
UUP0 02100.0%
Total:243 0238.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Holly LynchHalifaxLab (minister)tellno
Conor McGinnSt Helens NorthLab (minister)tellno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive