Wales Bill — Schedule 1 — Devolution of Policing Powers to the Welsh Assembly — 11 Jul 2016 at 19:00

Theresa May MP, Maidenhead voted for the Welsh Assembly being given powers over policing in Wales.

The majority of MPs voted against the Welsh Assembly being given powers over policing in Wales.

MPs were considering the Wales Bill.[1]

The amendment rejected in this vote stated:

  • Amendment 83, page 47, line 32, leave out Section B5.

Had it not been rejected this amendment would have impacted paragraphs 37-39 of Schedule 2 to the Bill[2] titled: B5 Crime, public order and policing which stated:

  • 37 The prevention, detection and investigation of crime.
  • 38 The maintenance of public order.
  • 39 Policing.

These were in the Bill in a list of matters to be "reserved" to the UK Parliament and not devolved to the Welsh Assembly.

The amendment was accompanied by the following explanatory statement:

  • This amendment removes the reservation of crime, public order and policing from the list of reserved powers.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a not-for-profit free service. However, it does cost us money to 'keep the lights on'. To do this cheaply, we get our 100% renewable electricity from Bulb - who tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six' electricity suppliers and will give us and YOU £50 credit if you switch your gas and electricity to them using our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con269 (+2 tell) 0082.1%
DUP1 0012.5%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab0 000.0%
LDem0 3037.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 37 (+2 tell)072.2%
Total:270 47050.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. We're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive