Appointment of Jenny Willott Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority — 13 Jul 2016 at 12:52

The majority of MPs voted for the appointment of Jenny Willott to the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs was:

Under the Parliamentary Standards Act, one Member of the IPSA Board must be a person who has been (but is no longer) a member of the House of Commons. Willott, an ex MP, was being appointed to that board position.[1]

The Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority regulates and administers MPs’ business costs, expenses, pay and pensions.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con255 (+2 tell) 4079.1%
DUP4 0050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent2 0066.7%
Lab0 40 (+2 tell)018.2%
LDem7 0087.5%
PC2 0066.7%
SNP40 0074.1%
UUP1 0050.0%
Total:311 45056.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
Karl McCartneyLincolnCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive