Finance Bill — New Clause 8 — Review of Changes to Tax on Dividend Income — 6 Sep 2016 at 16:30

The majority of MPs voted not to require a review of the impact on directors of micro-businesses of changes to tax on dividend income.

MPs were considering the Finance Bill[1].

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled: Review of changes to tax on dividend income and stated:

  • ‘(1) The Chancellor of the Exchequer must commission a review of how the changes to the tax on dividend income implemented by this Act affect directors of micro-business companies, to include—
  • (a) the impacts across the distribution of such directors’ net income;
  • (b) the impact on company failure rates; and
  • (c) options for amending the law to minimise the impact on such directors who are on low incomes.
  • (2) The Chancellor must lay a report of the review before both Houses of Parliament within six months of the passing of this Act.”


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con303 (+2 tell) 0092.4%
DUP5 0062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab0 198085.7%
LDem0 6075.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 46 (+2 tell)088.9%
UKIP1 00100.0%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:309 261089.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive