Wales Bill — Clause 1 — Separation of the Legal Jurisdictions for England and Wales — 12 Sep 2016 at 19:30

The majority of MPs voted against the separation of the legal systems of England and Wales.

MPs were considering the Wales Bill[1].

The amendment rejected in this vote began:

  • Amendment 60, page 2 leave out lines 4 to 9 and insert—
  • Part 2B
  • Establishment of Two Distinct Jurisdictions
  • 92B Legal jurisdictions of Wales and of England
  • The legal jurisdiction of England and Wales becomes two legal jurisdictions, that of Wales and that of England.
  • 92C The law of Wales and the law of England
  • (1) The law of England and Wales is divided into the law of Wales and the law of England.
  • ...

Had it not been rejected this amendment would have impacted Clause 1 of the Bill[2] which provided for recognition of the ability of the Assembly and the Welsh Ministers to make law forming part of the law of England and Wales, but not for the separation of the jurisdictions.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con281 (+2 tell) 0086.0%
DUP5 0062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 0033.3%
Lab0 000.0%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 25 (+2 tell)050.0%
UUP1 0050.0%
Total:288 30050.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive