Digital Economy Bill — New Clause 27 — Introduction of Broadband Connection Voucher Scheme as Alternative to Universal Service Order Provision — 28 Nov 2016 at 18:47

The majority of MPs voted against offering an option of a grant to purchase an alternative broadband connection to that offered by a universal service provider.

MPs were considering the Digital Economy Bill[1].

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled: Introduction of broadband connection voucher scheme as alternative to universal service order provision and stated:

  • “The Secretary of State shall introduce a broadband connection voucher scheme to allow an end-user to access broadband other than that supplied by the provider of the universal service order, under Part 2 of the Communications Act 2003.”

The rejected new clause was accompanied by the following explanatory statement:

  • Although most individuals are likely to choose the standard universal service order offering, this new clause would provide individuals with the option of a voucher scheme that empowers them to take up an alternative solution.

Past UK Government broadband voucher schemes have been grants to enable businesses to obtain a faster internet connection[2][3].


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con277 (+2 tell) 0085.1%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab0 175075.4%
LDem0 2025.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 37 (+2 tell)072.2%
Total:277 221078.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive