Savings (Government Contributions) Bill — Clause 1 — Government Contributions to Lifetime ISAs — 12 Dec 2016 at 18:30

The majority of MPs voted in favour of a Government bonus, worth up to a thousand pounds a year, for those saving via a Lifetime ISA.

MPs were considering the Savings (Government Contributions) Bill[1].

The amendment rejected by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • Amendment 15, page 1, line 1, leave out clause 1

Clause 1 of the Bill[2] was titled: Government contributions to Lifetime ISAs and began:

  • (1) Where a qualifying addition to a Lifetime ISA is made in a relevant period, HMRC must pay a government bonus.

For those investing the maximum £4,000 per year the Government bonus planned was £1,000 per year.[3]


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con277 (+2 tell) 0084.8%
DUP5 0062.5%
Lab0 100.4%
LDem0 6066.7%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 35 (+2 tell)068.5%
UKIP1 00100.0%
UUP2 00100.0%
Total:285 45052.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive