Policing and Crime Bill — Report (3rd Day) — 12 Dec 2016 at 19:30

Moved by Baroness Royall of Blaisdon

187A: After Clause 152, insert the following new Clause-“Sentencing for stalking offences (1) In section 4A(5)(a) of the Protection from Harassment Act 1997 (stalking involving fear of violence or serious alarm or distress), for the words “five years” substitute “ten years”.(2) At the end of section 32(4)(b) of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 (racially or religiously aggravated harassment etc) insert “save in the case of an offence under section 4A of the Protection from Harassment Act 1997, in which case the person shall be liable to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 14 years.””

Ayes 160, Noes 149.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 07.7%
Con0 137 (+2 tell)51.7%
Crossbench5 76.6%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge1 06.7%
Lab92 (+2 tell) 042.7%
LDem54 150.5%
Non-affiliated3 113.8%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:158 14736.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
Lord Bilimoria Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchaye
Lord Kerslake Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Watkins of TavistockCrossbenchaye
Baroness Nicholson of WinterbourneLDemno
Lord Taylor of WarwickNon-affiliatedno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive