Charter for Budget Responsibility — Objective of Balancing Public Finances as Early as Possible in the Next Parliament — 24 Jan 2017 at 17:59

The majority of MPs voted for the objective of returning the public finances to balance at the earliest possible date in the next Parliament.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

The charter states the Treasury’s objective for fiscal policy is to:

  • return the public finances to balance at the earliest possible date in the next Parliament

and the objective is to be achieved by:

  • a target to reduce cyclically-adjusted public sector net borrowing to below 2% of GDP by 2020-21
  • a target for public sector net debt as a percentage of GDP to be falling in 2020-21
  • a target to ensure that expenditure on welfare in 2021-22 is contained within a predetermined cap and margin set by the Treasury at Autumn Statement 2016

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con284 (+2 tell) 0086.9%
DUP6 0075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab0 140 (+2 tell)061.7%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 46085.2%
UUP2 00100.0%
Total:292 193076.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive