European Union (Notification of Withdrawal) Bill — New Clause 26 — Agreement of Representatives of Scottish, Welsh and Northern Ireland Administrations — 6 Feb 2017 at 12:07

The majority of MPs voted against only allowing the Prime Minister to give notification of the United Kingdom's intention to leave the European Union a month after the approach to, and objectives for, withdrawal negotiations have been agreed by representatives of the Scottish, Welsh and Northern Ireland administrations.

MPs were considering the European Union (Notification of Withdrawal) Bill[1].

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled Agreement of the Joint Ministerial Committee on European Negotiation and stated:

  • The Prime Minister may not exercise the power under section 1(1) until at least one month after all members of the Joint Ministerial Committee on European Negotiation have agreed a UK wide approach to, and objectives for, the UK’s negotiations for withdrawal from the EU.

Clause/section 1(1) of the Bill stated:

  • (1) The Prime Minister may notify, under Article 50(2) of the Treaty on European Union, the United Kingdom’s intention to withdraw from the EU.

The Joint Ministerial Committee (EU negotiations), chaired by the Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union, is a forum comprising ministers from the UK, Scottish and Welsh Governments, and the Northern Ireland Executive to continue the UK Government’s work with the devolved administrations in Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales to secure the best Brexit deal for the whole of the United Kingdom.[2]


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con319 (+2 tell) 0097.6%
DUP7 0087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab3 202.2%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 51 (+2 tell)098.1%
UKIP1 00100.0%
UUP2 00100.0%
Total:332 62061.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Paul FarrellyNewcastle-under-LymeLabaye
Keith VazLeicester EastLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive