European Union (Notification of Withdrawal) Bill — Information to Enable Parliamentary Scrutiny — 6 Feb 2017 at 20:45

The majority of MPs voted against requiring an undertaking to keep the Houses of Parliament informed about withdrawal negotiations before allowing the Prime Minister to give notification of the United Kingdom's intention to leave the European Union.

MPs were considering the European Union (Notification of Withdrawal) Bill[1].

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled Parliamentary oversight of negotiations and stated

  • “Before issuing any notification under Article 50(2) of the Treaty on European Union the Prime Minister shall give an undertaking to—
  • (a) lay before each House of Parliament periodic reports, at intervals of no more than two months on the progress of the negotiations under Article 50 of the Treaty on European Union;
  • (b) lay before each House of Parliament as soon as reasonably practicable a copy in English of any document which the European Council or the European Commission has provided to the European Parliament or any committee of the European Parliament relating to the negotiations;
  • (c) make arrangements for Parliamentary scrutiny of confidential documents.”

The rejected new clause was accompanied by the following explanatory note:

  • This new clause establishes powers through which the UK Parliament can scrutinise the UK Government throughout the negotiations.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con319 (+2 tell) 1097.9%
DUP7 0087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab4 212 (+2 tell)094.8%
LDem0 8088.9%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 53098.1%
UKIP1 00100.0%
UUP2 00100.0%
Total:333 284096.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLab (minister)no
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive