Draft Important Public Services (Transport) Regulations 2017 — 40% Strike Ballot Threshold for Key Transport Workers — 8 Feb 2017 at 20:51

The majority of MPs voted to require the support of 40% of those eligible to vote in ballots for strike action by key transport workers, including staff working on railways, airport security, air traffic control and London buses, for such action to be lawful.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

The regulations define those working in:

  • London local bus services
  • airport security services
  • port security services
  • passenger railway services (other than heritage/museum/tourist services) or
  • civil air traffic control services

as providers of "important public services" in relation to which there is a requirement for the support of 40% of those entitled to vote in a ballot for industrial action for such action to be lawful.

The provision allowing regulations defining "important public services" which are subject to the 40% threshold was introduced by section 3 of the Trade Union Act 2016 which amends section 226 of the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con317 0096.4%
DUP7 0087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 20100.0%
Lab1 196085.7%
LDem0 90100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 50092.6%
UUP2 00100.0%
Total:328 264092.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Meg HillierHackney South and ShoreditchLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive