European Union (Notification of Withdrawal) Bill — New Clause 2 — Undertakings Prior to Giving Notice of the UK's Intention to Leave the EU — 8 Feb 2017 at 17:45

The majority of MPs voted against requiring the Prime Minister to give a series of undertakings before giving notification of the United Kingdom's intention to leave the European Union.

MPs were considering the European Union (Notification of Withdrawal) Bill[1].

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled Conduct of negotiations and stated:

  • “Before giving any notification under Article 50(2) of the Treaty on European Union, the Prime Minister shall give an undertaking to have regard to the public interest during negotiations in—
  • (a) maintaining a stable and sustainable economy,
  • (b) preserving peace in Northern Ireland,
  • (c) having trading arrangements with the European Union for goods and services that are free of tariff and non-tariff barriers and further regulatory burdens,
  • (d) co-operation with the European Union in education, research and science, environment protection, and preventing and detecting serious and organised crime and terrorist activity,
  • (e) maintaining all existing social, economic, consumer and workers’ rights.”

The rejected new clause was accompanied by the following explanatory note:

  • This new clause sets out statutory objectives that the Government must have regard to whilst carrying out negotiations under article 50.


Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con322 (+2 tell) 1098.8%
DUP8 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab5 215 (+2 tell)096.5%
LDem0 90100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 540100.0%
UKIP1 00100.0%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:336 291098.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)no
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive