European Union (Notification of Withdrawal) Bill — Clause 1 — Northern Ireland — 8 Feb 2017 at 18:05

The majority of MPs voted for notice of the UK's withdrawal from the EU to preserve rights acquired in Northern Ireland as a result of European Union membership, and to preserve the right of the people of Northern Ireland determine for themselves if they prefer a union with Great Britain or a sovereign united Ireland and to retain the Republic of Ireland's status of not being considered a foreign country for the purposes of UK law.

MPs were considering the European Union (Notification of Withdrawal) Bill[1].

The proposed amendment rejected in this vote was:

The rejected amendment was accompanied by the following explanatory note:

  • This amendment requires the power to notify withdrawal to be exercised with regard to the constitutional, institutional and rights provisions of the Belfast Agreement.

Had it not been rejected the above text would have been added to the end of clause 1 of the Bill[2].

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con321 (+2 tell) 1098.5%
DUP8 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab5 216096.1%
LDem0 90100.0%
PC0 2 (+1 tell)0100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 53 (+1 tell)0100.0%
UKIP1 00100.0%
UUP2 00100.0%
Total:337 288097.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)no
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive