Higher Education and Research Bill — Report (1st day) (Continued) — 6 Mar 2017 at 20:46

Moved by Lord Carrington of Fulham

53: Clause 15, page 9, line 19, at end insert-“(3A) The principles must include principles applicable to an unincorporated designated institution.(3B) In subsection (3A)-(a) “unincorporated designated institution” means a designated institution which is not a corporate body;(b) “designated institution” has the same meaning as in section 129A(10) of the Education Reform Act 1988.”

Moved by Lord Stevenson of Balmacara

54: After Clause 16, insert the following new Clause-“Power to restrict enrolments(1) If the OfS has reasonable grounds for believing that a registered higher education provider is in breach of an ongoing registration condition with respect to the quality of the higher education provided by the provider, or to its ability to implement a student protection plan which forms a condition of its registration, the OfS may place quantitative restrictions on the number of new students that the provider may enrol.(2) The Secretary of State may by regulations make provision about the procedures for imposing such restrictions and about rights of appeal.”

Ayes 45, Noes 140.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con129 (+2 tell) 151.2%
Crossbench6 56.2%
Lab0 16 (+2 tell)8.5%
LDem0 2120.6%
Non-affiliated2 05.7%
UUP1 050.0%
Total:138 4323.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Earl of DundeeConaye
Lord Bilimoria Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Kerslake Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness O'Neill of BengarveCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Rees of LudlowCrossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Wolf of DulwichCrossbenchaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive